Find Laws Find Lawyers Free Legal Forms USA State Laws
Home » Find Laws » Gun Laws » Purchasing Guns » Gun Laws At A Glance

Gun Laws At A Glance

Gun Laws At A Glance

Gun laws vary significantly from one state to another, and therefore, the minimum age requirement to purchase a firearm may range.

Generally, minors are not permitted to purchase or register a gun. As a result, in most states, an individual must be at least 18 years of age to obtain a gun and register the firearm. An individual can face criminal charges if he/she sells a firearm to a consumer who is under 18 years of age.

However, some states have established exceptions to this rule. For instance, in the state of Texas a minor who is under 18 is able to purchase a firearm if he/she has obtained written consent from his/her parents or guardian. In addition, the state of Texas does not require an individual to register a shotgun, firearm, or handgun. It is important that an individual review the gun laws in his/her state, as these regulations can differ significantly from one location to another.

Related Articles

Link To This Page

Comments

Find an DE Lawyer
Guide to Finding a Lawyer
Tips