Find Laws Find Lawyers Free Legal Forms USA State Laws
Home » Find Laws » Gun Laws » State Hunting Laws » Massachusetts Hunting Laws

Massachusetts Hunting Laws

Massachusetts Hunting Laws

Anyone 15 years of age or older is required to possess licenses to hunt and fish in the state of Massachusetts. However, anyone under the age of 15 may fish without a license keeping in mind all other fishing laws and regulations.

Trapping licenses are required for individuals 12 and older. Such licenses are valid for a calendar year. The minimum age for hunting is 12, provided they are accompanied by a licensed hunter of 18 years of age or older. In addition a single bag limit shall be shared as well as a single firearm or bow. Only one minor is allowed per adult.

There are numerous regulations connected to specific animals and firearm usage, so be advised. I will touch upon some here. In terms of usage of a handgun, you are prohibited from hunting deer, wild turkey, migratory game birds, or gray squirrel with this firearm. You may only use a .357 magnum revolver to hunt Black bear during the September portion of the open season.

Use of a handgun or any firearm for that matter is prohibited during the exclusive archery season for deer. When hunting fox, coyote, and bobcat, you must be aware of the following. The hunting hours for bobcat run from a half hour before sunrise to a half hour after sunset.

Slightly different are the hunting hours for fox and coyote, which run from a half hour before sunrise to midnight except for coyote during the shotgun deer season when the hunting hours close a half hour after sunset. Take special note, however, that during the pheasant and quail seasons on wildlife management areas stocked with these animals, the hunting hours for all species are from sunrise to sunset.

There are no bag limits for fox coyote or bobcat. While there are no harvest quotas for fox or coyote, the total is 50 for bobcats. No special hunting permit is required as long as you have your hunting license. It is illegal to hunt or pursue bobcat with dogs, or to train bobcat hounds on bobcat during the closed hunting season, except by special permit for authentic research or damage situations.

You are, however, allowed to hunt fox and coyote with hounds and bait as well as fox, coyote, and bobcat with electronic or manually operated calls. Aside from licenses, the following hunting permits may be purchased for the state of Massachusetts: Antlerless Deer, Black Bear, Wild Turkey, Migratory Game Birds, and Crossbow.

Remaining regulations that exist within wildlife management areas are as follows. Individuals are not allowed to partake in any target practice without permission from the director of the Division of Fisheries and Wildlife. No one is permitted to use any means other than a shotgun or bow and arrow during the pheasant and quail season on areas stocked with them except for when hunting raccoons between 9 PM and 3 AM. Knowledge of these specifically tailored regulations is vital to hunter safety. Contact Massachusetts lawyers for legal advice and assistance.

NEXT: Michigan Hunting Laws

Related Articles

Link To This Page


Find an MA Lawyer
Guide to Finding a Lawyer


Michigan Hunting Laws Michigan Hunting Laws